15 Films worth watching in 2013

2012 is near its end, and seeing as it’s 12/12/12 and the world may or may not end next Friday, I decided to compile a few movies worth taking a look at. You know, in case we don’t die and actually see the light of day that will come with the New Year.

Gangster Squad

Gangster-Squad-poster-wallpaper

Release: January 11

It’s not one of those movies I’d personally rush to the theaters to see, but it has one hell of a cast! Brolin, Gosling, Nolte, Stone, Penn. Add a true story to this, and you got one interesting project. Gangster Squad was originally planned to be released in late 2012, but due to the Aurora Shootings back in July, the producers decided to edit a scene where a shooting take place in a theater (yeah, sounds a bit too controversial, but whatever). As I said before, I didn’t get a feeling of “Oh my God, I gotta see this” when I first saw the trailer, but it has potential.

Warm Bodies

Warm-Bodies

Release: February 1

This is definitely a zombie movie with brains. Based on a book I’ve never heard of, apparently, Warm Bodies has originality all over it. Execution is key in order for success to be guaranteed, but I see this movie as a sleeper hit, especially because of its release being oh so close to Valentine’s Day. I mean, c’mon. The main protagonist is a zombie. Holy shit, do you need more persuasion?

Side Effects

side_effects_screen_grab_a_l

Release: February 8

I found out about this film’s existence about a week ago. Like Gangster Squad, this too has great cast. But nothing makes me happier than knowing that this is a Soderbergh movie. Add the screenwriter of Contagion (which Soderbergh directed; a great movie, by the way) and Rooney Mara’s first performance after her Oscar nominated performance in The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, and you have your psychological thriller.

A Good Day to Die Hard

517891-a-good-day-to-die-hard

Release: February 14

The fifth film in the long running series, A Good Day to Die Hard brings John McClane back to the big screen. Bruce Willis always kicks ass, so there’s no need to fear a lack of ass kicking there. However, it’s yet to be seen if the Die Hard series can survive in the modern world; not too many fans were happy with Live Free or Die Hard, and from the looks of it, this sequel is for or less the same in terms of over the top action. I’ve never seen any of the Die Hard movies, but I can say that the international trailer for A Good Day to Die Hard got me pretty curious. Then again, it could be the classical music, and not the actual scenes, that got me curious. Who knows?

Oz the Great and Powerful

oz-the-great-and-powerful-poster-1

Release: March 8

Millions across the world begged for a sequel to the 1939 classic, The Wizard of Oz. 74 years later, we get a prequel. Sarcasm aside, Oz the Great and Powerful looks more like the sequel to Burton’s Alice in Wonderland. Nonetheless, this will be a big hit for Disney, no doubt about it. Whether it’ll be a hit among critics is another thought entirely. But as I said before, it looks and feels like something from Alice in Wonderland, and I liked Burton’s interpretation. So yes, I will watch this. You may, too.

Iron Man 3

Iron-Man-3-Trailer-Official

Release: May 3

I never saw the first two Iron Man films. I never saw Tony Stark on screen until The Avengers this year. Though not a fan of the movie, I did enjoy Robert Downey Jr. as a drunk billionaire philanthropist. When Iron Man 3’s trailer hit the Internet, people were like “ermmmerrgerrd”. I was one of those who couldn’t believe what I saw. First thought: Dark Knight definitely had an influence. Second thought: I have to see this!

The Great Gatsby

great-gatsby-movie-image-tobey-maguire-leonardo-dicaprio

Release: May 10

Based on what many (including myself) consider to be one of the greatest novels of the 20th century, The Great Gatsby did not impress me. As a matter of fact, I was disgusted by the look of the movie. Yeah, DiCaprio is Gatsby and all, but the style is just…ugh. I will watch it, nevertheless, but if it sucks (which I have a feeling it will), at least I won’t be disappointed. My opinion aside, if you read Gatsby and loved it, watch this film. I mean, why not? It’s Gatsby!

Star Trek Into Darkness

star-trek-into-darkness

Release: May 17

I know NOTHING about Star Trek. Hell, I never saw the J.J. Abrams 2009 reboot, but this sequel, whose teaser trailer was released nearly a week ago, is eye goggling. I saw Super 8 and found it to be very enjoyable and an extraordinary film. I believe in Abrams.

Man of Steel

Man-of-Steel-poster2-610x904

Release: June 14

Superman is Jesus in the new trailer just released this week. Seriously, look at it. Superman will be portrayed as a savior, I bet on it. Also, I’m going to say that it will actually be a good movie. At least, it’s guaranteed to be better than Superman Returns. If Batman didn’t exist, Superman would definitely be the God of all superheroes. But Batman does exist, and Batman shits. End of story.

Monsters University

Monsters-University-Mike-Sulley

Release: June 21

Ah, college. For a lot of us (me included), this will be the summer where we make the transition to college. What better way to look at college life beforehand with a Pixar movie about college! Set 10 years before the events of Monsters Inc., this will be Pixar’s first prequel. To some, it would seem as though Pixar peaked with Toy Story 3. Cars 2 was a disaster (I was ehhhh about it), and Brave was good, but not Pixar good (I loved it!). So here’s hoping Pixar finds its mojo back.

The Lone Ranger

THE LONE RANGER

Release: July 3

Based on old, old, old serials, The Lone Ranger is Disney’s attempt to revive an old, old, old franchise. They may just succeed too. Because of its age, the more old movie viewers may be attracted to it, and the trailer shows enough action to attract the younger audiences. Also, Johnny Depp’s in it, and though he hasn’t recently hit the jackpot (Dark Shadows), he is pretty solid (Pirates, Alice). I’m somewhat into westerns, and I see potential in this. However, if the movie bombs, it bombs badly. Disney cannot afford another John Carter. So, ladies and gentlemen. Pray (I’m being a little overdramatic, but Disney needs not another bomb).

Elysium

neil-blomkamp-elysium1

August 9

3 years ago, a sleeper hit by the name of District 9 hit theaters and was critically acclaimed. I’ve seen the movie 5 times. It is truly amazing (it’s also my favorite sci-fi film). Neill Blomkamp’s next film, Elysium is a another sci-fi movie; this time around, it has Hollywood stars and a much bigger budget when comparing it to District 9, but the plot has heart.

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

111869

Release: November 22

This seriously needs no further explanation. The second installment of the popular series of books, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, if done correctly, can be one really great film. The book is hands down the best in the series, and the plot and surprise ending =, if done right in film, can send shockwaves around the world. The first film was good; now here is the chance to make The Hunger Games series great.

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

hobbit-2013-annual-3

Release: December 13

After Peter Jackson announced that he would turn The Hobbit into three films, the second film’s title was changed to The Desolation of Smaug. Whether this is just a title change or if content will be added/removed remains to be seen or heard of. The first Hobbit film, An Unexpected Journey, is set to release this Friday. And I am already excited for the second installment (even if I don’t agree with Jackson’s decision to adapt The Hobbit into three films).

The Wolf of Wall Street

movies_wolf_of_wall_street_1

Release: Late 2013

In 2013, Martin Scorsese returns. Just that news is enough to get me excited for next year. Scorsese’s current project, The Wolf of Wall Street, is slated to be released sometime next year (sometime during Oscar season, I say). It’s based on the story about a New York stockbroker, played by DiCaprio, who refuses to cooperate in a large securities fraud case involving corruption on Wall Street, the corporate banking world and mob infiltration. Scorsese has much experience with crime films. His last one, The Departed, won him an Oscar for Best Director. Who knows, maybe history will repeat itself.

Leave a Reply

